The Little Mermaid - Sea Creature WIP

Hi there! This is my first time in a Flipped Normals challenge and when it comes to fairy tales, my favourite one is definitely The Little Mermaid!

For this challenge I’ll go for a more creature-like approach while still keeping some human features and avoiding a predator and menacing look .I imagined her living in the ocean twilight zone where sunlight decreases rapidly with depth, so this would affect her app! earance, especially her eyes. It’s also a contrast to the sunny and bright surface where she’d like to live and a way to show how far she’s from there. Considering the darker waters where she inhabits and the fact that in the original tale she doesn’t have a happy ending, I’ll use a neutral palette instead of bright colors. Although she’s a sea creature, I still want her to look young, curious and naive.

Good luck everybody!

2 Likes

A few days ago I started blocking the mermaid. I spent most of the time on her human parts to make sure the anatomy is right. The tail is still pretty basic but it already has the proportions I had in mind for her.

I’m currently working on the fluke, finns and hands but still keeping it a low resolution. For the mermaid anatomy I’m using the book “The Resurrectionist” as reference. It’s a “Gray’s Anatomy” for mythological creatures which is pretty cool cause I want to keep the mermaid as believeable as possible. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Last week I’ve spent some time working on her face to give her a youthfull teen-like look and I’ve worked on her hands. I’ve decided to add some membranes between her fingers cause I thought it would add a more sea creature vibe.