Snow White and the 7 seas

Hello internet friends!

I’ve decided after mulling it over for a bit to give this a go. I am very new to 3D so this may be an absolute disaster, or a great learning experience :wink: . I’ve been using flipped normals for their library of tutorials as well as other online resources to learn 3D modeling and sculpting for about a month now and I’m at the stage now where I just need lots and lots of projects so that I put the time in. This seems perfect!

I’ve been spinning up a little world for a while now and one of my characters is a sky pirate loosely drawn from my fascination for characters like Captain Shakespeare from the Neil Gaiman’s “Stardust” and Dola with her rag tag group in Miyazaki’s “Castle in the Sky”

My pirates have had their role in most cases as a tool to move my story along and provide some drama to the main story arc. In this case, however, it seems like the fairy tale of Snow White kind of works well to give these pirates a purpose. Replace a few things here and there, add air pirate themes, do some research on notorious pirate women like Cheng I Sao and Anne Bonny, add a bit of whimsy and poof! … I’m still working on the poof part.

1 Like

I did some sketching tonight and I’ll continue to push this around until I feel committed to a design. I definitely want to live in the idea for a bit to figure out what makes sense to wear for this person. I’d like to push further into the stylized-ness as well to get some really defined shapes before I go to sculptyland. I think that may end up helping me along down the line.

I will say, I like middle-aged, feels more real. Being a pirate of the skies I imagine she should have a bit more wear and tear from fights and such so I’ll have to explore that a bit. I’m liking mixing in the greens, reds and golds for her pale skin and black hair. I’m going to try and include a bit of encouraged theme by dressing up her accessories in “air themed” patterns.