Horror Challenge - ressurected soldier

Hello everyone,

This is my first FlippedNormals challenge.
I wanted to use this challenge to practice my anatomy therefore I decided to create a medieval zombie with chainmail armour. I wanted to create a scene in the crypts.

I gathered my references and started in zbrush with dynamesh and created a skull.

I duplicated the skull and used it to model skin around the skull. I went a bit to detailed on the head so I created a second mesh for the body and.

I also created some meshes for the hands and found some anatomy basemeshes in the Zfiles which I used as reference for the proportions.

1 Like

To save time on retoplogising I decided to project the humanBaseMesh that comes with Zbrush onto the model.

I then started finding the shapes. I tried seperating the primary secondary and tertiary details into seperate layers. I also seperated the symmetrical and asymmetrical changes into layers. I am new to using layers so I’m still figuring out what to seperate on different layers.

I wanted to make him look more decayed so I pushed the nose in which brought the skull shape out more.
I also started on the secondary details for the teeth and the hands. For the hands I struggled with making them look malnourished. So I decided to first make them look normal and then bring shrink them.

I struggled with the shapes for the face so I decided to test out my idea for chainmail first.
I downloaded A mixamo model with animation for testing.
I created a simple shirt with alot of polygons and then instance some rings onto them to create chainmail.

I then used Cloth simulations to make the chainmail move naturally.

To help finding the shapes I decided to export the model to Blender and see what it looked like when lit. This gave me a better feeling for the shapes and I made alot of progress.

1 Like

I started refining the skin structure of the head.