Fairy Tales Challenge - Candy Merchant Witch

Starting a bit late oops! Its my first time trying a Flipped Normals challenge, so I’m hoping I can finish in time with a result I’m happy with, we’ll see how I go! :sweat_smile: We’ll fly through the process I hope.

The character I chose to adapt was the witch from the Hansel and Gretel fairy-tale, the one who lives in a house of sweets. I was flipping between this one and Thumbelina, but I thought that choosing the witch would give more variety, and maybe a lot of colour.

Reference Sheet:

As I was collecting ref the character changed in my head from a passive NPC to a somewhat chaotic neutral “Willy Wonka” -esque person. So I really want to lean into the eccentric old woman, and give her lots of bright colours while still sticking with a fantasy clothing type.

First Concept Sketch:

[EDIT: current progress]

3 Likes

Update number one! Heres a basic blockout of the witch, basically just looking at large shapes and fleshing out the clothes a bit more.

The eye colour and the nail paint/finger staining is mostly placeholder so I can test some colourings. Before I get into detailing I would appreciate feedback on the overall shape.

I also need to think a bit more on how to incorporate more candy into her outfit/design…

1 Like

did a bit of a paintover today to help me figure out where to go next as I was struggling a bit with colours and costuming.

As you may see, im still struggling :joy::joy:but she looks more like she lives in a candy house now so I’m happy for now! My next steps will be sculpting and adding some details along with those placeholder colours so I can see how it looks!

4 Likes

I love this paint over! Really hits the look of the character.

1 Like

Thank you! :smiley:

Update!